Faculty Highlight – Alicia Swanson

Among other roles, I am a wife, mother of three, nurse and nurse educator. I graduated from North Dakota State University with my Bachelors of Science in Nursing in May of 2002. Soon after, I began my journey as an inpatient nurse on the Children’s Hospital Float Team (NICU, PICU, PEDS) and also provided nursing care on the Adult Cardiac Step down unit. Currently, I remain per diem at the Children’s Hospital on the Pediatric Unit.

I have had the great opportunity to educate nursing students since 2003. After a few years of instructing, I completed my Masters of Science Nursing Education at Concordia College, Moorhead, Minnesota, in 2007. My research and thesis was titled Nurses Knowledge, Beliefs and Practices Regarding Infant Positioning in the Prevention of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.

I have taught a wide variety of courses in Licensed Practical Nursing (LPN), Bachelors level Registered Nursing, Registered Nurse to Bachelors of Science in Nursing and Associated Degree Registered Nursing programs. In addition, I have the great opportunity to facilitate learning in the traditional classroom, online, simulation and clinical settings.

I have greater knowledge and interest in the areas of Pediatrics and Maternal/Child care. I have had the opportunity to supervise nursing students providing direct patient care in both clinical areas. I also have experience and enjoy instructing Public Health Nursing, Nursing Leadership, Transcultural Nursing, Nursing Preceptorship and Nursing Research.

However, my LOVE is Holistic Nursing and Complementary, Alternative and Integrative Therapies. I have experienced and witnessed some amazing transformations and healing! I am a member of the American Holistic Nurses Association which is a professional nursing organization that advocates for holistic nursing care. I am also a Jikiden Reiki Practitioner and BodyTalk Practitioner. I would love to be involved in more research and practice related to complementary and alternative health modalities.

I have taught part-time at Minnesota State University Moorhead since the summer of 2007. And now the opportunity to develop and instruct the Holistic Nursing Course! I can honestly say I feel so very blessed to have the honor to collaborate with such wonderful faculty and students!

Thank you for allowing me the chance to share my journey with you!

In Health and Happiness,

Alicia

Alicia Swanson RN, MSN, PHN
Nursing Faculty
Minnesota State University Moorhead

School of Nursing and Health Care Leadership

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

